Who made the UFC what it is today?

Today I was searching the web, trying to find something I thought I could write a little bit about and I wanted it to be about MMA. My last few posts have been about Pro Wrestling and while that is one of my passions. I also have a major passion for MMA. Well I fell upon an article about the hard feelings that Ken Shamrock still has against Dana White. He talks about how Dana basically takes all the credit for where the UFC is today. I will post the link to the original article at the bottom of this page. But I totally agree with Jeremy Botter the author of the original article that was posted on bleacherreport.com. He basically says, you know, Dana has a point. If he hadn’t taken notice of the UFC back in the day, where would the sport be right now? I kind of look at MMA as having two phases. First there was the no holds barred MMA. That was entertaining at first if you let it tap into the blood thirsty maniac in you. The second phase is the Ultimate Fighter phase. Now I know there are more things than The Ultimate Fighter that has made MMA popular, but even the least dedicated fan would have to admit that Griffin vs. Bonnar is one of the first fights of this new phase where people really started to say, “wow these guys are beating the crap out of each other and neither looks like they were thrown to the wolves.” This is when people started to realize that there are rules and it is not the street fights that it started it out as.

Who was a major part of putting rules to MMA? Dana White. But, he is not the only reason MMA is where it is today. I can also see Shamrock’s point that maybe he doesn’t get the credit that he deserves. He is a legend in the sport, back when it was the blood sport. He is one of the reasons why the UFC exists. One of the first matches that I remember watching was Shamrock vs. Gracie at I believe UFC 1. That was the match where Gracie choked Shamrock out with his Gi. I was a huge fan of Shamrock, but I had to admit that that was one of the coolest things I had seen.

Pride Fighting Championship is another reason why MMA is where it is today. I mean look at the guys that have come out of Pride! You have guy like Chuck Liddell, Rampage Jackson, Wanderlei Silva and many many more. Guys at companies like Strikeforce and Bellator also are doing their part for the sport. Lets face it, there practically wouldn’t be women in MMA without Strikeforce. Not in the USA at least. I think I have made my point, while Dana has played an invaluble part in where MMA is today, he is by no means the only reason why MMA is where it is today.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

