Oops. I made a mistake…and other stuff!

Alright, in the last post I made a mistake. I said that the UFC Heavyweight title fight lasted 55 seconds on Saturday. I meant to say it lasted 64 seconds. I don’t know where 55 came from. The point remains that UFC having one hour for one fight, no matter how important, was not the brightest idea. That brings me to my first topic.

Dana White was furious with the way the media was responding to the quick finish and the way the Fox show was centered completely around one match. He also seemed irritated with fans who were also disgusted with the way UFC 138 was handled. Unfortunately he has very few people to blame besides himself and maybe the Fertitta brothers. “You should have bought tickets if you wanted to see all of the fights and you don’t like to watch it on Facebook”, White said during an interview Sunday. The thing that amazes me is how he went from having action packed Pay Per Views that had more than 3 or four fights to cutting it down to showing the undercard on Spike and now this. Having one fight for the premiere of UFC on FOX. I know he said that this show wasn’t part of the initial deal with FOX but if you are going to go through all of the trouble of creating a respectable card like the one this Saturday, and you are trying to bring in more fans by having a deal with FOX, then by all means show all of the fights on Fox. It is just common sense to me.

Enough of that, I promise I will not talk about this stupid mistake made by UFC for a while. Now on to another questionable decision. Ben Henderson has been confirmed as Frankie Edgar’s next opponent for the Lightweight Championship. Don’t get me wrong, I believe that he deserves this opportunity. The part of the equation that irks me is that before Saturday the possibility of the winner becoming the number one contender for the championship, was only a rumor. Maybe this is just me being paranoid or something, but I find it a little interesting that this decision was only made after the winner had been declared. Not only that, but Guida had built a better winning streak of four in a row before fighting Henderson. When Henderson beat Guida that only brought his winning streak to 3. I don’t know, just something I find a little interesting.

UFC 139 is going to be Hendo vs. Rua. This is one fight that fans have been asking for for a very long time. I am more excited for this fight than I have been for a while. Well, that’s all I’ve got for now.

Thanks for reading-TFC

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

