Oh So Much to be Excited About!

Right now is an interesting time to be an MMA Fan. Upcoming fights and an awesome surprise in a video game are all going to be topics for this post. Let’s get down to business.

First of all I saw the commercial for UFC Undisputed 3 last night and was overjoyed to see that PRIDE is going to be featured. Now, I don’t think anybody can understand how excited this made me. I love the UFC the way it is now but the more hardcore rules of the PRIDE days and the Legends that came out of this era of MMA are near and dear to my heart. For those of you who are fairly new to MMA PRIDE was one of the first organizations that ZUFFA, the company that owns UFC, bought up when buying up their competition. It was an organization from Japan and some of the rules that you may never see in the USA include head stomps, soccer kicks, and knees to the head. I know, I know, it sounds like a flash back to the more barbaric times of MMA and this may be, but sit down and watch a couple of classic matches from PRIDE and I swear you will be hooked. PRIDE is the organization that brought you Cro Cop, Dan Henderson, Fedor Emelianenko, and Chuck Liddell. I have heard rumblings about a recreation of PRIDE but I am not going to get my hopes up until I see some better proof.

Ok, there are a few different fights that I am excited for so I will run down the list one by one and tell you why I am excited. The first fight I shouldn’t have to explain Hendo v. Rua. I mean, come on. This is a fight that true fans have been wanting for years. I love seeing a wrestler with fists of stone take on a Jiu-Jitsu fighter with unnatural strength. This will be an interesting fight because Rua is very aggressive and could come in trying to take Hendo down right away. On the other hand Hendo is a more methodical fighter who doesn’t mind standing and throwing punches. I don’t know, pretty much everything about this fight makes me happy.

Next is, of course, Brock Lesnar vs. Alistair Overeem. I was so excited when Brock Lesnar went from pro wrestling to MMA. Here was a guy who was breaking innocent wrestler’s necks and on one occasion, almost his own, moving to a sport where he will be paid to actually try and knock people out. I think Lesnar is one of the strongest men in MMA, but I think he is totally outmatched here. Overeem is looking stacked for this fight and he has way more experience training, and common sense. Sorry, I get a little irritated with Lesnar after his stupid rant he did at the one UFC event. You know the one where he talked about going home drinking a competitors beer and climbing on top of his wife. Who, if you don’t know is the woman who by now I am sure is completely plastic, ex wwe Diva Sable. Yuck.

I’m actually pretty excited for the Bisping vs. Miller fight for the Ultimate Fighter Finale. Bisping, I will admit can be a cocky jerk sometimes, but he is also one of the most entertaining fighters out there. I don’t think I have seen a fight of his that I didn’t like. The same can be said for “Bully Beatdown” host Jason Miller. There is a reason why they call him Mayhem. I think both men will come out swinging and it is going to be awesome.

Those are the fights I am most excited about coming up soon.

As always thanks for reading! -TFC

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

